5 - 28 August 2016

This inaugural Gallery M Open Contemporary Prize was an initiative of Gallery M and Century 21 Bayside Brighton. The exhibition was open to any artist living and working in South Australia (aged over 18 years); using any medium.

All prizes were non acquisitive. The prizes were generously donated by:

  • First Prize        $3,000     (Century 21 Bayside Brighton)
  • Second Prize   $1,000     (A to Z Conveyancing)
  • Third Prize       $500        (Riviera Homes)

The final judging took place in Gallery M prior to the exhibition 5-28 August 2016.

Thank you to all the artists who submitted fantastic images of their artwork - the judges had a difficult task selecting the exhibition pieces

The 2016 finalists were:

Iroda Adil

Paula Alexander

Fran Callen

Neville Cichon

Bill Cook

Lisa Dalla Rosa

Michelle Driver

Lourdes Duenas-Blinco

Hannah Everett

Clinton Habib

John Hamilton

Kathryn Hill

Pamela Illert

Valerie Jordan

Belinda Keyte

Lee Knowles

Silva Kvasina

Yong Lin

Farahnaz Ghofran Majelan

Tina Margelo

Isobel McGarry

Liza Merkalova

Hazel Mitchell

Kirsten Mooney

Brian North


Jeremy Paddick

Yousouf Peerbaye

Maureen Prichard

Donald Richardson

Julie Strawinski

Lise Temple

Anne Thompson

Alexandra Toyne

Maggie Turner

Wild Violet

Sheila Whittam

Ian Willding

A booklet showcasing the  finalists' works from the Art Prize was also created.

Click the booklet link above to view a PDF version


FIRST PRIZE - $3,000   (Century 21 Bayside Brighton)

Tim O'shea
'At the Gallery'
oil on canvas
125cm W x 94cm H

SECOND PRIZE - $1,000   (A to Z Conveyancing)

Ian Willding
'Portal to My Childhood Dreams'
acrylic on canvas
73cm W x 98cm H

THIRD PRIZE - $500   (Riviera Homes)

Fran Callen
charcoal on paper
150cm W x 120cm H